IB Primary Years Programme

ib-world-school-logo-1-colour              pyp-programme-logo-en

What is the Primary Years Programme?


The IB® Primary Years Programme (PYP) is a curriculum framework designed for students aged 3 to 10. It focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer, both in the classroom and in the world outside. It is defined by six transdisciplinary themes of global significance, explored using knowledge and skills derived from six subject areas, with a powerful emphasis on inquiry-based learning.

The PYP is flexible enough to accommodate the demands of most national or local curriculums and provides the best preparation for students to engage in the IB Middle Years Programme.

The PYP is underpinned by six transdisciplinary themes around which learning is planned, and these are:

  • Who we are;
  • Where we are in place and time;
  • How we express ourselves;
  • How the world works;
  • How we organise ourselves;
  • Sharing the planet.

The IB Primary Years Programme